Lakeland: Subs ‘n Such

Subs 'n Such exterior, Lakeland, FloridaI’ve admired the distinctive look of Subs ‘n Such on South Florida Avenue in Lakeland for years.  I’m not sure why it took me so long to get there.  But my wife and I finally had lunch there recently.  They actually have 2 locations, both on South Florida Avenue.  One is in south Lakeland but we went to their Dixieland location.

We were happy with the cheerful service we received.  The funky interior is pleasant but tiny, so we got our sandwiches to go.  Their menu includes a variety of hot and cold subs, other sandwiches, burgers, hot dogs, and soups.  I ordered a 7″ Cuban sandwich – I requested tomatoes on mine, which is a violation of the Cuban sandwich standard, but it was something I was in the mood for.  My wife ordered an 8″ chicken bacon ranch sandwich on French bread, also with tomatoes.

Cuban sandwichThe sandwiches were delicious.  The mayo and mustard on the Cuban ended up being a little watery due to the tomatoes, my fault as, again, tomatoes don’t really belong on a Cuban sandwich.  But the ingredients were all delicious and the bread held up well.  The chicken on my wife’s sandwich was cooked to tender perfection and the bread was hearty and delicious.

Chicken bacon ranch sandwichAn added bonus to the Subs ‘ Such menu – milkshakes!  I ordered a vanilla shake and my wife had a cherry shake.  These were wonderful shakes.  The cherry shake actually had bits of cherries in it.  The shakes alone are worth a visit to Subs ‘n Such.

We were very happy with the whole experience.  Our total came to only about $24, quite good considering we ordered milkshakes (I realized later that I forgot to leave anything in the tip jar – my apologies to the staff as they certainly earned a tip).  We definitely look forward to returniCherry and vanilla milkshakesng.  I should also mention that they open in the morning and also offer breakfast sandwiches.  So if you’re looking for a hearty sandwich for breakfast or lunch, give Subs ‘n Such a try.

If we have inspired you to visit Subs ‘n Such, or if you have already been and want to share your experience, please let us know in the comments section below.  And if you have any Polk County restaurant tips, we would love to hear them via the Contact Us page.  Thanks for visiting and happy eating!

Leave a Reply

